The Willie Rafferty Memorial Trophy hosted by



Contents

3
3
4
5
6
6
6
7
8
. 6 . 6

The Willie Rafferty Memorial Trophy

List of Awards

Dependent on entries we aim to award the following prizes whose value will be dependent on the number of entries.

	Open	Female
1 st Overall	х	х
2 nd Overall	х	х
3 rd Overall	х	х
1 st Roadbike	х	х
2 nd Roadbike	х	х
3 rd Roadbike	х	х
Under 16	х	х
Under 18	х	х
Senior	х	х
Vet 40	х	х
Vet 50	х	х
Vet 60	х	х
Vet 70	х	х
Vet 80	х	х
Vet 90	х	х
Tandem	х	х
Tandem Mixed	х	х

One rider one prize. The fastest overall rider (TT or Road) gets the trophy irrespective of gender or age. Trophies are in order of priority, e.g. if you are a Vet 50 who wins overall on a road bike then you get the 1st Overall Prize only. This means prizes are more distributed amongst competitors.

NB For those awards where a 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize are listed: there must be at least one entrant in a gender or bike category for first prize to be offered, three entrants for a first and second prize and 5 entrants for a 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize to be offered. Monies will be evenly distributed to other prizes.

Previous Winners / Holders

2023 Held on the A77 Course

	Open	Female
1 st Overall	Chris Smart	Kate Richardson
2 nd Overall	Marc Anderson	Alexandra Hayden
3 rd Overall	Jesse Dawson	Lyndsey Blair
1 st Roadbike	David Johnston	Emma Rogerson
2 nd Roadbike	Alex McPhee	Jennifer Nicol
3 rd Roadbike	Torin Storkey	na
Under 16	Colin Johnston	na
Under 18-22	Craig Paterson	Kate Richardson
Senior	Darren Keane	Alexandra Hayden
Vet 40	Greg Smith	Lyndsey Blair
Vet 50	Vincent Pickering	Valerie Martin
Vet 60	Alan Davidson	Jennifer Nicol
Vet 70	George Skinner	na
Tandem	na	na
Tandem	na	na
Mixed		

Brief History of St Christophers Cycling Club and The Trophy

ST CHRISTOPHERS IS A WELCOMING CLUB FOR CYCLISTS OF ALL AGES AND ABILITIES

Members ride socially and competitively. Regardless if you are a novice cyclist wishing to improve or an experienced racer, you'll find St Christophers a welcoming club.

"Glasgow St. Christopher's Wheelers" was formed on the 14th April 1935. Willie Rafferty was a founding member and in whose memory the trophy is named. In 1982 the club title was changed and the St. Christophers Cycling Club continues based in East Kilbride.



The club now have 30 active members and regularly organise Social Rides on Thursday Nights and Sunday mornings as well as hosting the 10m TT Jack Robertson Auldhouse League on a Tuesday evening. The club normally run 2 Open events annually via the CTT

If you would like to know more about the club please see https://stchrisccek.co.uk/

The Course

Event HQ

Event HQ: Bishopton Community Hall, Gledstane Rd, Bishopton, PA7 5AU

Event Sign-On: from 7:00 am

Event Organiser: Vincent Pickering

Notes for Competitors

- 1. Sign on will be open from 7:00 am in the Bishopton Hall
- 2. Please read the enclosed anti-doping notice.
- 3. Under 18s must complete a parental consent form (this can be downloaded from the CTT site) and hand it in at sign on. No form = No ride.
- 4. The distance from Race HQ is approximately 2.5miles, heading West please allow plenty of time to reach the start area before your allocated time.
- 5. Course Marshals have no legal authority to stop traffic on the course, and as such will only provide course directional information.
- 6. Limited shower facilities are available at Race HQ, beyond the kitchen area although these may be seconded for any anti-doping controls.
- 7. All presentation awards will be at the end of the event.
- 8. Once a rider has completed their ride, they must return their race number and sign out, failure to do either will result in a DNF
- 9. Riders MUST have both FRONT and REAR lights affixed to their bike, both must be visible and working.
- 10. Riders MUST not wear dark coloured clothing.
- 11. Riders MUST not ride with their head down at any point
- 12. Riders MUST ensure their bicycle is mechanically fit-for-purpose (steering; brakes; drive-train; contact points etc).
- 13. Riders MUST NOT change lanes at any point on the course except where maneuvering safely into the outside lane for the Newark Castle turn roundabout. Any crossing of the central white line will be an automatic disqualification.
- 14. Riders MUST adhere to the rules and regulations of the Highway. Marshals and Police will be monitoring riding standards. 16. Any rider that is reported for breach of any of the above WILL incur sanctions this may include disqualification.

Doping Control

This event may be subject to a Doping Control It is your responsibility to check.

As soon as you have finished you should return to the event HQ as it is your responsibility to check if you are required for Doping Control.

Race numbers required for Doping Control will be displayed at the HQ adjacent to the result board If your number is displayed you should report immediately to Doping Control which will be nearby.

Remember, it is up to you to check and ensure that you comply If required you must report to Doping Control after finishing without delay.





Course Details

Course Details: Westferry WW10/01

See Map below

- Race HQ is in the Bishopton Community Hall: The distance from Race HQ is approximately 2.5miles, heading West – please allow plenty of time to reach the start area before your allocated time.
- 2. Start under railway bridge on Greenock Rd heading West
- 3. Immediate LEFT on slip-road to A8 at Westferry roundabout
- 4. Proceed westbound on A8
- 5. Straight through first roundabout at Langbank
- 6. Take 2nd exit at second roundabout at Woodhall
- 7. Continue on A8 to TURN at Newark Roundabout... PLEASE OBSERVE EXTREME CAUTION.
- 8. Retrace to finish at slip-road to Westferry roundabout.

