

Weaver Valley CC J9/7 – 'Cat and Fiddle' Hill Climb - Results

Sunday 18th September 2016 at 10:00

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations

Event Secretary: Adrian Japp, 56 Latham Avenue, Runcorn, Cheshire WA7 5DT Phone: 07540 450173 Email: ady@weavervalleycc.org.uk

Timekeepers:

Jimmy Williams & Tony Millington

	Mens & Overall		
	Name	Club	Time
1	Adam Kenway	Matlock CC	19:12.8
2	Louis Szymanski	ABC Centreville	19:26.0
3	Lee Baldwin	Champion System/VCUK	19:46.7
	Vet 40-49		
	Name	Club	Time
1	Kris Bowditch	Lyme Racing Club	21:38.4
2	Tony Cope	Leek Cyclists' Club	21:40.6
	Vet 50-59		
	Name	Club	Time
1	Andy Ashurst	Manchester Wheelers	20:44.1
2	Paul Robinson	Lyme Racing Club	21:50.8
	Vet 60+		
	Name	Club	Time

		Name	Club	Time
	1	John Quimby	Coalville Whs	24:41.4
	2	Andrew Grace	Crewe Clarion Whs	25:16.5
_				

Ladies

	Name	Club	Time
1	Elizabeth Banks	Fusion RT Fierlan	24:28.4
2	Joanne Blakeley	Weaver Valley CC	24:31.9

Juniors

	Name Club		Time	
1	Daniel Minor	Lyme Racing Club	20:08.2	
2	James Noonan	THR Racing	21:26.2	

Teams

	Name	Club	Time	
1	Daniel Minor	Lyme Racing Club	01:03:37	
	Kris Bowditch			
	Paul Robinson			
2	Sam Clark	Buxton CC/Sett Valley	01:03:59	
	Bhima Bowden	Cycles		
	Mark Horsley Frost			

Event Records:

Senior:	2013	Tejvan Pettinger	18:16.8	
Ladies:	2015	Dame Sarah Storey	21:50.8	
Vets:	2008	Chris Myhill	19:50.0	
Vets 50+	2016	Andy Ashurst	20:44.1	*** New Record This Year
Vets 60+:	2013	Peter Greenwood	20:26.8	
Juniors:	2004	Adam Kenway	19:50.4	
Team:	2013	Buxton CC	59:39.2	

Finishing even if you have to run!

Thanks must go out to all who helped in organising and running this year, and to all riders who battled it out today!

Nice day for a hill climb. The sun was out, the wind was light, and riders gathered early, eager to sign on and get prepared for the ride. Even from the start riders, it looked to be a reasonably fast day, and there was an air of competitive spirit that saw the faster riders battle it out on the hill. One Lyme RC rider took this to heart when he suffered a mechanical close to the finish, and instead of giving up (having already caught a rider and passed him), jumped off his bike, picked it up and ran over the finish line to gain his time!!

As the numbers counted up, times came in and the faster guys were away, times started to tumble. Then they plummeted as Louis Szymanski of ABC Centreville raced over the finish line, with a 19:26 dead. Not even Lee Baldwin who came over the line with 19:46.7 could get near, nor the following riders, until of course Adam Kenway, who had said to me after he signed on that he was looked for a 19, flew across the line with a 19:12.8.

The ladies were equally impressive and even closer, with Elizabeth Banks taking the win with 24:28.4, only 3.5 seconds ahead of our own Jo Blakeley, racing for WVCC for the first time this year, (and previous cevent record holder when riding for Champion Systems Maxgear RT in 2013), and only 4.1 seconds ahead of third place rider Josephine Gilbet.

Not as fast as last year, with 24 riders (compared to last year's 35) finishing under 23 minutes, but nevertheless a decent day in the sun on the hill.

In the team event, Buxton and Lyme swapped positions again, with Lyme coming up on top.

I trust that all riders enjoyed the day. I hope to see you all again next year.

Adrian Japp



os	Rider	The Results	Age	Cat	Time
05	Adam Kenway	Matlock CC	29	S	19:12.
	Louis Szymanski	ABC Centreville	24	S	19:26.
	Lee Baldwin	Champion System/VCUK	34	S	19:46.
	Matthew Davies	Rhino Velo Race Team	33	S	19:53.
	Thomas Brazier	Team Elite/Paul Bethell Electrical	32	S	20:02.
	Daniel Minor	Lyme Racing Club	18 26	J S	20:08. 20:14.
	Courtney Blockley-Campton Ben Norbury	Lutterworth Cycle Centre Racing Team Congleton CC	32	S	20:14.
	Sam Clark	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	36	S	20:29.
)	Andy Ashurst	Manchester Wheelers	51	V50+	20:44.
	Daniel Stevens	Liverpool Century RC	26	S	20:55.
	Bhima Bowden	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	28	S	21:05
	Andrew Newby	Veloviewer	32	S	21:19
	James Noonan	THR Racing	16	J	21:26
	Kris Bowditch Tony Cope	Lyme Racing Club Leek Cyclists' Club	41 43	V	21:38 21:40
	Paul Robinson	Lyme Racing Club	53	V V50+	21:40
	Andy Moore	Lincoln Whs CC	41	V 30+	22:00
	Joseph Dobson	Manchester Bicycle Club	25	S	22:02
)	Mark Horsley Frost	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	48	V	22:19.
	Steffan North	Wills Wheels CC	40	V	22:22
	Alex Coates	Lyme Racing Club	15	J	22:25.
	Jon Waddilove	Crewe Clarion Whs	48	V	22:29
	Paul Targett	Pendle Forest CC	51	V50+	22:38
	Ian Haddock	Warrington Road Club/Horton Light Engineering/RS Cyclesport	38	S	23:01
	Paul Rowley James Russell	Manchester Wheelers Macclesfield Wheelers	36 54	S V50+	23:03
	Simon Holmes	Rutland Cycling Club	54 41	V50+	23:06
)	Thom Hughes	Lyme Racing Club	16	J	23:14
)	lain Young	Weaver Valley CC	38	S	23:23
	Jon White	Pro Vision Cycle Clothing	33	S	23:47
	Chris Wilcox	Lyme Racing Club	53	V50+	23:47.
	Steven Hankey	Warrington Road Club/Horton Light Engineering/RS Cyclesport	44	V	24:01.
	James Brayford	Lyme Racing Club	18	S	24:03
	Alistair Fisher	Manchester Tri Club	39	S	24:09
ì	Lee Wood Elizabeth Banks	Congleton CC Fusion RT Fierlan	44 25	V	24:26
, 	Elliot Banks	Imperial College Cycling Club	25	LS	24.28
,)	Joanne Blakeley	Weaver Valley CC	20	1	24:20
)	Josephine Gilbet	Footon Velosport	21		24:32
	John Quimby	Coalville Whs	65	_ V60+	24:41
2	Dan Robinson	Manchester Wheelers	31	S	24:42.
}	Jamie Eves	Warrington Road Club/Horton Light Engineering/RS Cyclesport	26	S	24:49
ł	David Fearon	Weaver Valley CC	52	V50+	24:58.
<u>,</u>	Chris Reynolds	Liverpool Century RC	33	S	25:00.
	Andy Gray	Wills Wheels CC	40	V	25:01
, }	Jayne Dickens Andrew Grace	Vision Racing (Delamere Dairy/GRM Property Consultants/Swinnert) Crewe Clarion Whs	47 60	L V60+	25:09
) 	Simon Higgins	Liverpool Century RC	56	V60+ V50+	25:16 25:18
)	Stuart Baker	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	26	\$	25:26
	Molly Horsley Frost	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	41	L	25:30
	Iona Sewell	Veloschils Interbike RT	28	L	26:06
	Ben Rathbone	Macclesfield Wheelers	34	S	26:20
	Tom Leese	Stone Wheelers CC	23	S	26:34
	Graham Keith Hill	South Pennine RC	59	V50+	26:41
	Samuel Hall	Lyme Racing Club	13	J	26:58
	Paul Lawson	Weaver Valley CC	46	V	27:08
	Mark Baskerville Amanda Young	Lyme Racing Club Lyme Racing Club	33 52	S L	27:14
	Kate Giddings	Liverpool Century RC	30		27:58
	Holly Carter	Manchester Wheelers	31	L	28:14
	Colin Carthy	Weaver Valley CC	50	_ V50+	28:18
	Richard Bowditch	Lyme Racing Club	64	V60+	28:26
	Dean Hughes	Lyme Racing Club	43	V	28:33
	David Prince	Crewe Clarion Whs	69	V60+	28:45
	Darren Hughes	Lyme Racing Club	47	V	29:42.
	Tony Perrin	Stone Wheelers CC	55	V50+	29:57
; 	Andy Chalmers	Leigh Premier Road Club	53	V50+	30:10
	Patricia Stacey David Steele	Lyme Racing Club Lyme Racing Club	56 76	L V60+	30:42 32:00
)	Sarah Soden	Leicester Forest CC	52	1	32:00.
	David Cartlidge	Lyme Racing Club	75	L V60+	32:21
	Lynne Skellern	Macclesfield Wheelers	49	L	32:21.
	John Budzik	Lyme Racing Club	62	V60+	34:08
	Paul Jennings	Lyme Racing Club	69	V60+	34:44
	Phil Brooke	Wills Wheels CC	42		DNF

		The Results continued			
Pos	Rider		Cat	Age	Time
	Simon Watson	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	41	V	DNS
	Steven Hazeldine	Stone Wheelers CC	50	V50+	DNS
	Nicola Soden	Veloschils Interbike RT	29	L	DNS
	Neil Oliver	Lyme Racing Club	41	V	DNS
	Toby Williams	Liverpool Phoenix CC (Aintree)	23	S	DNS
	Jon Wood	Coventry CC	51	V50+	DNS
	Mark Tickle	Leigh Premier Road Club	38	S	DNS
	Stephen Hall	Lyme Racing Club	52	V50+	DNS
	Michael Baskerville	Lyme Racing Club	33	S	DNS Apol.
	Andy Banks	Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles	61	V60+	DNS Apol.
	Nick Dickens	Stafford RC	47	V	DNS Apol.
	James Black	Imperial College Cycling Club	23	S	DNS Apol.
	Chris McNaughton	OVB	31	S	DNS Apol.

