

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules & Regulations

Roy Enfield Memorial Open 50 mile time trial

Sunday 11th August 2019

Start time 06:30

Q50/11 course

HQ: Victory Hall, Hamstreet

Roy Enfield, a member of the Medway Wheelers, was part of the wheelers winning team in the prestigious BBAR competition in 1948 and 1949. Ken Joy and Peter Beardsmore were the other two counters, with Beardsmore winning the individual competition in 1948, and Joy, who was champion for four successive years, in 1949.

Roy's widow has maintained contact with the club since Roy's death and recently donated some of his medals and associated memorabilia to the club.

Medway Velo Club – Roy Enfield Memorial Open 50 Mile Time Trial

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules & Regulations

Held on Sunday 11th August 2019 starting at 06:30 hrs

On Course Q50/11

Awards

1st Fastest £30	Nick Fennell (Thanet RC)
2nd Fastest £25	Andy Meliak (Velorefined.com Aerosmiths)
3rd Fastest £20	Nick Wilson (Rye & District Wheelers)
1 st Woman £30	Tracy Wilkinson-Begg (Folkestone Velo Club)
2 nd Woman £25	Debbie Percival (Kent Velo Girls / Boys)
3 rd Woman £20	N/A
1 st Vet OAS £20	Andy Meliak (Veloerefined.com Aerosmiths)
2 nd Vet OAS £10	Nick Wilson (Rye & District Wheelers)
3 rd Vet OAS £5	Steve Gooch (Rye & District Wheelers)

Event Secretary/Promoter

Phil Booth (Medway Velo Club) 43 Heron Way, Walderslade, Chatham, Kent, ME5 7RL 07801 420741 phil.cttsoutheast@gmail.com philbooth73@yahoo.co.uk

Timekeepers/Recorder – Ernie Mackey (Medway Velo Club), Dave Mackey (Medway Velo Club)

Start holder/Marshals/Sign on – Rob Kennison, Sean Farley, Nigel Wharton, Rob Hatton, Charlie Bruce, Lee Kingston, Nathan Delaney, John Delaney. Thank you to all of the marshals who volunteered their time, and negotiated overnight closures of various parts of Kent's motorway network to reach the HQ.

The second year of the event since returning to the stewardship of the velo saw a new winner in Nick Fennell, moving up from second place in the previous year. Tracy Wilkinson-Begg was a new winner of the women's event, although a second consecutive victory for the Folkestone Velo Club's women. Despite the stiff breeze blowing across the marsh a number of riders achieved PB's or course bests.

Thank you to everyone who rode, commiserations to those who suffered punctures on the course, sadly some of the recent wet weather had led to gravel and other associated detritus on the roads of Romney Marsh.

Look forward to seeing you all in the 2020 event, please remember Medway Velo also promote an open ten, the North Downs Hilly, as well as Grass Track racing, and road races. It would be great to see you at some of these events too.

Best wishes for the remainder of the season.

Phil Booth Event secretary

Position	Rider	Club	Cat	Time	OAS
1	Nicholas Fennell	Thanet RC	Sen	01:46:07	N/A
2	Andrew Meilak	VeloRefined.com Aerosmiths	V53	01:47:05	00:33:35
3	Nick Wilson	Rye & District Wheelers CC	V56	01:50:59	00:31:00
4	Joshua Clark	Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA	Espoir	01:51:42	N/A
5	Dean Chiddention	Abellio - SFA Racing Team	V43	01:52:02	00:24:30
6	Tom Hilder	trainSharp	Sen	01:53:54	N/A
7	Steve Gooch	Rye & District Wheelers CC	V53	01:54:27	00:26:13
8	Sam Fuller	70aks Tri Club	Sen	01:54:39	N/A
9	Stephen Wilkinson	Folkestone Velo Club	V53	01:54:50	00:25:50
10	Mark Hill	VeloRefined.com Aerosmiths	V52	01:55:04	00:25:12
11	John Cockrill	Abellio - SFA Racing Team	Sen	01:56:04	N/A
12	Robert Nicholas	Folkestone Velo Club	Sen	01:56:07	N/A
13	Paul Smith	VeloRefined.com Aerosmiths	V47	01:56:13	00:22:01
14	Mark Doxey	Abellio - SFA Racing Team	V51	01:56:14	00:23:37
15	Simon Henderson	Thanet RC	V56	01:58:02	00:23:57
16	Tristan Davenne	Newbury RC	V44	01:59:25	00:17:34
17	Antony Bee	Wigmore CC	V55	02:00:08	00:21:24
18	Richard Birtwhistle	Sydenham Whs	V63	02:02:10	00:23:30
19	David Hampton	Ashford Whs	V51	02:02:54	00:16:57
20	Carl Charmon	GS Invicta - Eye Level Optical-	1/40		
	Carl Chapman	Herbert Cycles	V48	02:04:30	00:14:08
21	Sam Day	CS Grupetto	V45	02:04:58	00:12:26
22	Andy Robinson	Ashford Whs	V60	02:07:10	00:16:47
23	Allan Thurston	70aks Tri Club	V44	02:08:27	00:08:32
24	Danny Frost	Folkestone Velo Club	V55	02:09:29	00:12:03
25	Benjamin Jones	Penge Cycle Club	V50	02:09:39	00:09:48
26	Sam Bennett	70aks Tri Club	V46	02:10:10	00:07:39
27	Marek Sasura	GS Avanti	V43	02:12:06	00:04:26
28	Paul Kirkness	Thanet RC	V65	02:12:22	00:14:37
29	Matt Nunn	Medway Velo Club	Sen	02:15:22	N/A
30	Robert Royle-Evatt	Addiscombe CC	V51	02:15:55	00:03:56
31	David Bishop	Wigmore CC	V49	02:15:56	00:03:07
32	Tracy Wilkinson- Begg	Folkestone Velo Club	WV53	02:19:00	00:13:43
33	Debbie Percival	Kent Velo Girls/Boys	WV57	02:21:00	00:13:40
34	Michael Stanley	Medway Velo Club	V47	02:23:43	-00:05:29
35	Colin Inett	Thanet RC	V78	02:36:24	00:04:12
36	Bob Loader	Sydenham Whs	V86	03:17:04	-00:19:19
	Richard Payn	34 Nomads CC	V55	DNF	
	Lee Buckman	Ashford Whs	V44	DNS	
	Mark Newton	Elite Cycling	V52	DNS	
	Christopher Bax	PMR	V67	DNS	
	Samuel Robinson	Ashford Whs	Sen	DNS (A)	
	Adam Shaw	Hastings & St. Leonards CC	Sen	DNS (A)	
	Lesley Newman	Ashford Whs	WV56	DNS (A)	
	Michael Coulter	Gravesend CC	V71	DNS (A)	
	Reuben Evans	Bigfoot CC	Sen	DNS (A)	
	Michael Newman	Ashford Whs	V56	DNS (A)	

Nick Marsh	GS Invicta - Eye Level Optical- Herbert Cycles	V58	DNS (A)	
Neal Watson	7Oaks Tri Club	V51	DNS (A)	
Andrew Buckley	Adalta Cycling Club	V42	DNS (A)	
Hugh Williams	Pro Vision Cycle Clothing	V51	DNS (A)	
Christopher Fennell	The Independent Pedaler	Sen	DNS (A)	