## Result Sheet Norman Wells Memorial 50 miles Time Trial Promoted by



## SOUTHEND WHEELERS

## for and on Behalf of Cycling Time Trials under its Rules & Regulations

**Event Counting towards SPOCO SE** 

Course: E9/50

**Date**: 30<sup>th</sup> June, 2024

**HQ**: Chelmer Club Hut, Meteor Way, off Waterhouse Lane, Chelmsford,

CM1 2RL. https://w3w.co/varieties.camp.waddle or for Google Maps

Click <u>here</u>

Organiser: Barry Simpson

Mobile phone: 07790 262994

Timekeeper: Trevor Pedley

Marshals: Members and friends of Southend Wheelers

**Awards**: Fastest Rider: the Norman Wells Memorial Trophy

Fastest Southend Wheeler: The Founder's Cup

Please note, there were no cash awards for this event. Any surplus will be donated to Cardiomyopathy UK, the Southend Wheelers' charity

for this and next season. Here's a link to their website:

https://www.cardiomyopathy.org.

**Charity Donation**: We raised around £300 for Cardiomyopathy UK. Many thanks to

everyone.

**Thanks**: To all the volunteers and timekeepers, without whom nothing would

happen! Also, the bakers – who provided such delicious and plentiful

cakes!

Phil Hodey and Shaftesbury CC for the use of their super timing

system.

**Photos**: Here's a link to some photographs from Chris Smith, **this link will** 

**PHOTO\_LINK** (please credit CSmith, Southend Wheelers). > If you have any other photos you'd like to share, please

message me and I'll publish to the riders.



Southend Wheelers' Norman Wells Trophy. This solid silver trophy was purchased from donations in 1964 and has been presented to the winner of the club's open 50-mile TT ever since. Although the trophy is presented to the winner each year, the trophy is retained by the club for security reasons!

A bit of historical background for this event....

So, who was Norman Wells?





Norman, although never a racing man, was a leading light in cycling for 38 years, devoting his life to the club as President, Chairman and Treasurer between 1948-62. He officiated at the 1948 Olympic Games as a timekeeper at the cycling events and thereafter always wore an Olympic blazer when timekeeping for the club. He would walk to club events on the A127 at Eastwood & Vicarage Hill Benfleet (on the A13) from his home in Holyrood Drive, Westcliff-on-Sea (coincidentally also the childhood road of today's organiser!) & back again in all weathers, distances of around 5 miles each way. Interestingly it is said that he never rode a bike in his life.

He joined Southend and County Wheelers in 1925 – soon after its formation.

## Founder's Cup

We will also be presenting The Founder's Cup to the fastest Southend Wheeler at the event. The Founder's Cup, also made from solid silver, was inaugurated in 1924 when the club was one year old and was paid for by the founding members of the club. Since that date the cup has been awarded annually to the fastest 50-mile time trial performance by a club member with open events being the only counters since 1926. The first winner in 1924 was Jock Ashley in 2:29:20. The next year the winner was Wally Palmer, who also won the 2nd ever club Open 50 in 1927. He would have won in 1926 as well if he hadn't had a late start!

number	firstname	lastname		machine	time hh:mm:ss	
12	Mike	Debney	Verulam Really Moving	RB	1:52:57	1st & 1st RB
49	David	Harding	Chelmer CC	π	1:54:04	2nd
47	Peter	Harding	Chelmer CC	π	1:54:08	3rd
39	Ramsey	Kechacha	Shaftesbury CC	π	1:54:19	
46	Nicholas	Knight	Hart Performance Coaching	π	1:54:29	
42	David	Pennington	Southend Wheelers	TT	1:54:33	
29	Miles	Burrage	Eat Plants Not Pigs CC	TT	1:59:10	
34	Ben	Newman	North Essex Velo	TT	1:59:18	
14	Lewis	Duffield	Athlon CC	RB	2:00:50	2nd RB
36	Michael	Beaver	Athlon CC	П	2:01:13	
31	Daniel	Price	North Essex Velo	П	2:02:23	
33	Adrian	Tovey	Maldon & District CC	П	2:04:52	
	Paul	Ruffy	Eat Plants Not Pigs CC	π	2:05:20	
	lan	Braybrook	Basildon CC	π	2:06:18	
	Andrew	Turnock	Finsbury Park CC	П	2:06:53	
	Philip	Hodey	Shaftesbury CC	π	2:07:25	
	John	Paduano	Southend Wheelers	RB	2:08:38	3rd RB
	Panos	Kakoullis	East London Triathletes	П	2:11:22	
	Rob	Chaplin	East London Velo	RB	2:12:39	
	Phillip	Brant	Southend Wheelers	П	2:12:33	
	Jamie	Bishop	Newhall CC	RB	2:15:46	
	Richard	Mellor	Team Bottrill	RB	2:17:24	
	Jennie	Pennington	Southend Wheelers	TT		1st Female
	Peter	Tibbitts	Ford CC	П		13t remaie
			1 1 1 1 1		2:18:32	
	David	Carey	Southend Wheelers	П	2:18:44	2
	Gill	Carter	Essex Roads CC	П		2nd Female
	Kerry	Brennand	Newmarket Cycling & Triathlon Club	RB		3rd Female/1st Female R
	Richard	Parrotte	Shaftesbury CC	П	2:22:46	
	Paul	White	Southend Wheelers	RB	2:23:46	
	Rachel	Halamandres	Basildon CC	π	2:24:32	
	Paulina	Mozal	Chelmer CC	RB		2nd Female RB
	Marc	Brant	Basildon CC	RB	2:30:10	
	Colin	Edmond	Maldon & District CC	RB	2:52:06	
	Mike	Googe	Maldon & District CC	RB	2:53:29	
1	Malcolm	Strickland	CC Bexley	RB	3:07:36	
21	Jan	Harvey	Southend Wheelers	π	DNF	
25	Kelvin	Cuffy	Southend Wheelers	π	DNF	
43	Alfie	Salmon	Hart Performance Coaching	π	DNF	
4	Ruth	Stapleton	Newhall CC	RB	DNS	
17	James	Bromley	Hart Performance Coaching	π	DNS	
26	William	Bell	Stortford Tri	π	DNS	
27	Geoff	Bores	Ford CC	TT	DNS	
48	Daniel	Ryan	North Road CC	TT	DNS	
7	Patrick	Claridge	Chelmer CC	RB	DNS(A)	
19	Ross	Allan	St Christopher's CC	π	DNS(A)	
	Sean	Mcdougall	Icknield RC	П	DNS(A)	
	Dean	Lubin	Team Vision Racing - Silverhook	П	DNS(A)	
	Louise	Robinson	Shaftesbury CC	П	DNS(A)	
	Paul	Turton	Team Vision Racing - Silverhook	π	DNS(A)	