# **Cleveland Whs CC Hillclimb**

# Cleveland Wheelers annual hillclimb up Greenhow Avenue - "the steep side of Clay"

26/09/2021 10:00

**THC33** 

# **Sponsored By**



Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under its rules and regulations.



## **Headquarters**

Headquarters are in Great Broughton Village Hall, right by the mini-roundabout at the start of the high street when approaching from Stokesley, Kirkby or Ingleby Greenhow.

HQ will be open for sign-on from 8:45. There is no parking available at the village hall so to sign on either ride to the hall or park safely and sensibly while you sign on and then depart. The best options are to park in Stokesley or at the car park at the top of Clay Bank (beside the finish) and ride to HQ from there, or to sign on by car and then drive to the top of Clay Bank.

Postcode: TS9 7ER

What Three Words: ///count.centrally.deferring

#### Route from HQ to start

The easiest way is to drop down from the car park at the top of Clay Bank (the finish location) either by driving to the car park or cycling up to it.

If you're not coming by car and would rather not cycle up Clay Bank just to drop down it again you can get to the start by turning left out of the HQ and following the road towards Ingleby Greenhow. Eventually (after 3.1km), before reaching Ingleby Greenhow, you'll come to a right-turn signed "Chop Gate 4". Take this turn and ride a further 2.4km to reach the start. It should take about 20 minutes at a steady pace.

Google Maps Link: https://tinyurl.com/y86scex7

What Three Words: ///stooping.tester.senses

#### Course details

- The course begins on the unclassified road between Ingleby Greenhow and the top of Clay Bank.
- It begins by a field gate approx. 1.42km (0.88) miles from the top of Clay Bank (the finish line) and will be clearly marked by a start flag and by the presence of start timers.
- The course is straight up this unclassified road, approximately 1/42km (0.88 miles), climbing approximately 91m (300ft), having an average grade of about 8% and a maximum grade of 16%.
- A link to the route can be found here in RideWithGPS https://ridewithgps.com/routes/28647473
- The official Strava segment is here <a href="https://www.strava.com/segments/18914023">https://www.strava.com/segments/18914023</a> so you all know what times to expect!
- The finish is at the top of the bank, just before the junction for the car park/main road. It will be clearly marked with a finish flag and by the presence of timekeepers & marshals.

• Please exit the course immediately, into the car park that is on the right.

## **Local regulations**

- No warming-up on any part of the course once the event has started.
- No U-Turns in the vicinity of the start/finish areas
- CTT recommends the use of helmets by all competitors and this is MANDATORY for all competitors under 18 years of age.
- A working rear light is MANDATORY for all competitors.
- NO KIT is to be left with the starters. Any kit left by the roadside must be collected again by the competitor from where they left it at their own risk.

## **Organiser contact details**

S Tilly 6 Elgin Court Darlington 07982255809

secretary@clevelandwheelers.com

## Time keepers/officials

HQ/Organiser: S. TillyStart: S. JoughinFinish: B. Millen

#### Course records

#### **Solo Male**

02:59.0 Andrew Feather 27-Sep-20 | Cleveland Whs CC

#### Solo Female

04:08.0 Hannah Farran 27-Sep-20 | Cleveland Whs CC

#### **Solo Male (Junior)**

03:30.0 John Russell 27-Sep-20 | Cleveland Whs CC

#### **Solo Female (Junior)**

05:06.0 Holly Lincoln 27-Sep-20 | Cleveland Whs CC

## Awards/prizes

- The full prize list is yet to be ratified but thanks to generous sponsorship from <a href="Contemporary Stokesley Hair Salon">Contemporary Stokesley Hair Salon</a> there will be a wide range of age-related categories and equal prize money for male & female riders.
- Also, thanks to the generosity of Fietsen Tempo CC, there is the Rob Hughes Memorial Shield for the fastest Teesside veteran overall and for the fastest Teeside-based female rider.
- Prize winners will be announced after the event in the HQ. A limited cafe will be run with soft drinks and cakes.

#### **NOTES TO COMPETITORS:**

- 17. Signing-on Sheet and Signing-out Sheet
- (a) The competitors in all types of events must make themselves aware of any special safety instructions for the event and sign the official signing-on sheet when collecting their number.
- (b) In Type A events a competitor must return to the event HQ either during the event or within a reasonable time after the last rider has finished the event and must (i) return their race number(s); and (ii) sign the official signing-out sheet. A rider who fails to so sign the official signing-out sheet shall be recorded as DNF.

This event may be subject to a Doping Control As soon as you have finished you should return to the event HQ as it is your responsibility to check if you are required for Doping Control. Race numbers required for Doping Control will be displayed at the HQ adjacent to the result board. If

your number is displayed you should report immediately to Doping Control which will be nearby. Remember, it is up to you to check and ensure that you comply. If required you must report to Doping Control after finishing without delay.

# **Startsheet**

# **Cleveland Whs CC Hillclimb**

Start Number	Start Time	Rider	Club	Gender	Category
5	10:05:00	John Kettle	Cleveland Wheelers CC	male	Vet
6	10:06:00	Richie Grant	Hartlepool CC	male	Vet
7	10:07:00	Steven Tilly	Cleveland Wheelers CC	male	Vet
8	10:08:00	Leo Scrimshaw	Whitby Whs	male	Espoir
9	10:09:00	Holly Lincoln	Cleveland Wheelers CC	female	Espoir
10	10:10:00	Philip Speight	Fietsen Tempo	male	Para-cyclist
11	10:11:00	Adrian Knight	Cleveland Wheelers CC	male	Vet
12	10:12:00	Nuala Robinson	Fietsen Tempo	female	Senior
13	10:13:00	Colin Moore	Cleveland Wheelers CC	male	Vet
14	10:14:00	Paul Brown	Fietsen Tempo	male	Vet
15	10:15:00	Philip Harvey	Cleveland Wheelers CC	male	Vet
16	10:16:00	Howard Heighton	Ferryhill Whs	male	Vet
17	10:17:00	Anthony Moy	Cleveland Wheelers CC	male	Vet
18	10:18:00	Max Webster	Stockton Wheelers CC	male	Espoir
19	10:19:00	Chris Lawrence	Cleveland Wheelers CC	male	Senior
20	10:20:00	Maximus Potter	Stockton Wheelers CC	male	Espoir
21	10:21:00	Tom Levell	Cleveland Wheelers CC	male	Vet
22	10:22:00	Stanley Clough	ABC Centreville	male	Espoir
23	10:23:00	Ian Hutchinson	Cleveland Wheelers CC	male	Vet
24	10:24:00	Mark Campbell	Fietsen Tempo	male	Vet
25	10:25:00	Rohan Rayner- Smith	Cleveland Wheelers CC	male	Senior
26	10:26:00	Ben Etherington	Manilla Cycling	male	Espoir
27	10:27:00	Lawrie Dryden	Cleveland Wheelers CC	male	Espoir
28	10:28:00	Andrew Donald	AIMS Cycling	male	Vet
29	10:29:00	Hilton Armstrong	Fietsen Tempo	male	Vet
30	10:30:00	Peter Greenan	Ferryhill Whs	male	Vet
31	10:31:00	Cameron Turner	Malton Whs	male	Vet
32	10:32:00	Thomas Heighton	Ferryhill Whs	male	Espoir
33	10:33:00	Sam Leng	AIMS Cycling	male	Senior
34	10:34:00	Sophie Heighton	Ferryhill Whs	female	Espoir
35	10:35:00	Richard Lilleker	Cleveland Wheelers CC	male	Senior
36	10:36:00	lain Duffield		male	Senior
37	10:37:00	Hannah Farran	Team Boompods	female	Senior
38	10:38:00	Mark Snape	Fietsen Tempo	male	Vet

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under its rules and regulations

Start Number	Start Time	Rider	Club	Gender	Category
39	10:39:00	Nick Munro	Royal Air Force Cycling Association	male	Senior
40	10:40:00	Tom Harcourt	Team Judge Tyrekey	male	Senior
41	10:41:00	Dave Diston	Muckle Cycle Club	male	Vet
42	10:42:00	Adam Pinder		male	Senior
43	10:43:00	Aaron Preston	Cleveland Wheelers CC	male	Senior
44	10:44:00	Jacob Vezey	Harrogate Nova CC	male	Senior